Thursday, August 27, 2020

Check out the Nutmegs!

 Still trying to finish some summer reading or just looking to read some of the Nutmeg Nominees for 2021? Check them out here!

Here are the High School Nutmegs! 
Check out the full list of Nutmegs here (some are checked out currently): 2021 High School Nutmeg Nominees


Here are the Middle School Nutmegs! 
Check out the full list of Nutmegs here (some are checked out currently): 2021 Middle School Nutmeg Nominees







Thursday, August 20, 2020

New Book Highlight!

 Looking for a new read, but don't know what you want because the library isn't open for browsing? Here are some of our new books and a short synopsis so you can browse some of our new stuff here! 

All of these items are available now for you to place on hold and get it through curbside pickup.


I'm looking for a sci-fi book. 

Check out the Loop by Ben Oliver. Life inside the loop is torturous and repetitive as people under the age of 18 await their turn on death row. However, when rumors begin to spread of a war brewing on the outside, it's up to sixteen-year-old Luka to decide if he wants to stay in the Loop, or risk breaking out. 

Great for readers who enjoy the Walking Dead and the Stand.


I'm looking for an apocalyptic book.

Check out Agnes at the End of the World by Kelly McWilliams. Red Creek has always been home to Agnes. She's unaware that the man who controls Red Creek and is called Prophet is the leader of the cult she's in. When she meets an outsider, Agnes has to decide for herself if she should stay in the dangerous world she knows or take a chance in the real world.

Great for readers who enjoy The Handmaiden's Tale and Wilder Girls.


I'm looking for a new fantasy series to get into.

Check out the Queen's Rising by Rebecca Ross. Brienna has two desires in life when she reaches her 17th solstice: find a patron and master her passion. She is able to choose her passion but is unable to find a patron. During her quest to find herself and a patron, Brienna is thrust into a war where she needs to pick a side: passion or blood. We also have the second book available.

Great for readers who enjoy Ash Princess and Sorcery of Thorns. 


I'm looking for short stories.

Check out Black Enough. Black Enough is a fantastic collection of coming of age stories about what it's like to be young and black in America. This collection features stories from all over the country and across various types of teens. Everyone will be able to find at least one story to relate to. 

Great for readers who enjoy Clap When You Land and Slay.


I'm looking for a book about growing up and growing apart.

Check out We Used to Be Friends by Amy Spalding. James and Kat have been best friends forever, but senior year tore the two apart and by graduation, the two aren't speaking. The two girls had different expectations and plans for post-graduation that their friendship couldn't survive. Told in the perspectives of both girls, this story is both funny and painfully honest.

Great for readers who enjoy Yes, No, Maybe So and Late to the Party.


I'm looking for something light and funny.

Check out Say Yes Summer by Lindsey Roth Culli. Hold onto summer a bit longer with this great, heartwarming book. Rachel Brooks is a square. She's all set for her life to begin with straight As and scholarships to her dream school. After always following the rules, Rachel is ready to start saying yes to things like parties and boys. She spends an entire summer saying yes and experiencing a whole new side to life. 

Great for readers who enjoy Meet Me at Midnight and By the Book.

All of these titles and more are available for curbside pickup right now! If you liked these suggestions, want more posts like this, or want me to pick out some stuff for you, email me at vkiszka@burlingtonctlibrary.org ! 

Tuesday, August 18, 2020

Program Update

Pom Pom Spider

Last week's Pom Pom Animals craft was so much fun! Since I am extremely ready for Autumn and all things spooky, I decided to make a spider. He's a bit cross-eyed and can't really stand with his tiny legs, but I think he's cute! 

This week we aren't doing another craft. Instead of a craft, we'll be doing our first ever virtual game night! This month we're going to be playing a card game called Wizard Kittens. Wizard Kittens is a set collection game where you steal cards and build your hand to try and defeat the evil spells that were accidentally unleashed. 

Wizard Kittens board game cover

I'd love to make this a monthly thing online until we can make it a monthly thing in person. 

Our next craft night is on 8/27 and that one will be DIY Stickers! I'm very excited to see what kinds of stickers get made and where the stickers end up going! 

If you want to join us for the next craft night, sign up on our website or through the calendar linked on the right side of the blog! 

Thursday, August 13, 2020

Teen Advisory Board Application!

Are you a high school teen? Do you want to influence the library's programs and items and make the library better suited for you? Do you have volunteer hours that need filling?

If you answered yes to one or many of these questions, you should apply to become a member of the Teen Advisory Board! 

But what is a Teen Advisory Board? 

The Teen Advisory Board, or TAB, is a program for high school teens that meets every first Thursday evening of the month and we discuss things like teen programs and the teen collection, we'll have book talks, you'll be able to get volunteer hours and experience for your resume, and snacks will be provided (currently through curbside pickup for TAB meetings)! 

The TAB is a great opportunity for you to make a difference not only at the library, but in the community as well. It will also be a great chance for you to meet and hang out with other teens who are also passionate about the library! 

The link to the application is down below! I'll be reviewing them this month and the first meeting will be September 3rd at 6:30 pm on Zoom! 

Wednesday, August 12, 2020

August Programs!

 

Welcome all to the new teen blog!

 Welcome to the new teen blog!

I'm very excited to have a one stop shop for teen-related library updates including, but not limited to, new items, programs, displays, and more! I'll be posting weekly so check in for the most current updates. 

I'm Victoria, the new Teen Librarian, and I'm so excited to be able to have a platform to update you on the things we're doing here at the library. 

A little bit about me: I've been working in libraries for almost 2 years now. I got my undergrad in Library and Information Science and am currently in grad school working toward my MLIS. Things I like include, but are not limited to: video games, all things spooky, Neal Shusterman books, the Lion King, tabletop games, and sushi.

I'll mostly be posting things like new teen events, pictures from these events, new books and items for the teen collection, and any fun displays we end up making! 

Comments on all posts will always be on as a way for feedback. My email is always available at the top of the blog in case of questions. There is also a feedback form at the bottom of the blog. 

I look forward to interacting with all of you!